Nissan Road Racing Forums

Go Back   Nissan Road Racing Forums > Suspension > Alignment

Old 11-26-2017, 10:30 AM

Default Z32 Rear Upright 3D Scan

Hey All,

I took some time this weekend and tried my best to scan in an aluminum Z32 rear upright/knuckle. I used Recap by Autodesk and my dslr to generate the model. I scaled the model by measuring the parallel surfaces on one of the bushing locations.

Basically the plan is to scan in a s14 subframe before I swap one in to my s13. With the knuckle/upright and subframe pickup points scanned (taking care of the difficult to measure points in 3d space) I can model up the suspension arms and have an "accuracte" model of the rear suspension. Then I can try various arms lengths to my heart's content and see the effects on bump toe and such. I haven't actually made a traditional model yet but I will post it on here once I do (probably sometime during my winter break).

I'm not a mechanical engineer by any means so if people have suggestions or requests I'd love to hear them! Also, if this thread needs to be moved feel free to do so.

Here is the link to the files on google drive. If anyone would like it in a different format please let me know.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...xY?usp=sharing

Edit 1: Including a picture to show the resolution of the model. Just over 500k faces at full resolution.

Edit 2: I re-scaled the model based off of the ID of one of the holes. My real world measurements are now matching up much more closely with the model measurements. The 14.05mm vs 14.357mm I was talking about below now is 14.05mm real world and just about 14.065mm in the model.

-Derek

Last edited by Stingy49; 11-26-2017 at 07:57 PM..
Old 11-26-2017, 10:45 AM
Budget Baller to the Max

Send a message via AIM to Def

That's cool stuff.